Monday, March 26, 2012

Your help is needed to bring the Charlotte Knight's uptown!

***PLEASE SEE LETTER BELOW FROM CENTER CITY PARTNERS REGARDING THE CHARLOTTE KNIGHTS***



Dear Friends of Baseball:

We need your help. We are at a crossroads for AAA Baseball in our community. I am requesting your active support of our efforts bring the Charlotte Knights to Center City Charlotte.

The Knights are requesting funding support from the City of Charlotte to build a new AAA Ballpark. It will bring affordable family fun to the most convenient location in our region. The new ballpark will provide a new facility for youth and amateur sports tournaments that support the hospitality industry. We also know this AAA Stadium will bring jobs of all types, including youth employment. This public investment will be super catalyst for private investment and redevelopment of 36 acres of vacant land and surface parking lots. This stadium will bring life to Romare Bearden Park and will spur the creation of restaurants and retail as well as a hotel, office and residential development.

Please help us by doing five things:


1. Write a letter to the editor of the Observer, Creative Loafing or any newspapers you read…here are two options:


Charlotte Observer: opinion@charlotteobserver.com Subject line: Letter to the Editor
Creative Loafing: backtalk@creativeloafing.com Subject line: Letter to the Editor

2. Write a note to City Council (email addresses below or write to 600 E. 4th Street, Charlotte, NC 28202). See below for items to include in your letter.
3. Go to our Facebook page and “like” us at http://www.facebook.com/BaseballUptown.
4. Send us an email at info@charlottecentercity.org and we will keep you in the loop about events and this effort.
5. Lastly, ask friends and family to support this effort by doing these five things.

Things to include in your note to City Council:

a) Share with City Council who you are and that you support this investment in the new ballpark.
b) Ask City Council to support this investment in affordable family entertainment.
c) Share why you support this project and how you will use it personally.
d) Provide your name, address and phone number.
e) Thank them for their service to Charlotte and their thoughtful consideration of this investment.

This is the list of Charlotte City Council representatives and emails:
Patrick Cannon councilmancannon@gmail.com
David Howard info@davidhowardclt.com
Warren Cooksey warren@warrencooksey.com
James Mitchell JamesDistrict2@aol.com
LaWana Mayfield councilwomanmayfield@gmail.com
Beth Pickering pickeringbeth@aol.com
Clair Fallon CGFTJF@aol.com
Patsy Kinsey mailto:pkinsey@charlottenc.gov
Michael Barnes mailto:barnesdistrict4@aol.com%20
John Autry john@johnautry.net
Andy Dulin adulin@charlottenc.gov

We have seen the power of this downtown development strategy in cities across the country, including Indianapolis, Columbus, Louisville, Toledo, Durham, Oklahoma City, Greenville and Birmingham, just to name a few. If you want to see concrete examples, click on these links to see news stories about 3 of those cities:

News 14 - Columbus & Durham
WSOC - Greenville SC - Minor League investment pays off

Please stay in touch with us through email, Twitter (#BringBaseballBack), Facebook and http://www.charlottecentercity.org/. With your help, we will bring this affordable entertainment option and redevelopment catalyst to Charlotte.

Sincerely,

Michael J. Smith
President and CEO
Charlotte Center City Partners